About Us


The Darwin Flyrodders is not the first flyfishing club established in the Northern Territory, as the Saltwater Flyrodders of the NT was active during the early eighties.  The club was lucky to have among its then members the designer and creator of the ‘Pink Thing’ Grahame White as one of the original members.


Interest in the formation of a new fly club, was rekindled by the success of the inaugural Saltwater Flyfishing Challenge, held at Bynoe Harbour.  Mick Chambers and John Harrison, organisers of the Bynoe event, were instrumental in getting the new club off the ground.  A meeting was called in Palmerston in July 2000 and with over 20 people in attendance, there was obviously enough interest to formalise the establishment of a Darwin fly fishing club. Thus the Darwin FlyRodders was born.


Lyle O’Reilly was voted in as the first and subsequent President, supported by various members in the capacity of Club Committee.  Since the the club now convenes the Saltwater Fly Challenge and the Freshwater Fly Open.  It has just launched this new website, as the old one was getting a bit dated. 


The Darwin Fly Rodders more commonly known as the DFR organises the two competitions (mentioned above), club outings, and other social and instructive events such as fly tying days, fly-casting and demonstration sessions for the community from visiting fly fishing ‘icons’ and club members.  The Club provides tuition for fly-casting and fly tying to members.